Power Luncheons

FoxLake Norman Chamber of Commerce PowerLuncheons are held six times a year and feature a business or community leader as a guest speaker. The focus may be on a wide range of topical issues including: economic development, education, legislative activities and transportation initiatives, just to name a few.

Charlotte Mayor Anthony Foxx spoke in 2011 regarding the upcoming Democratic National Convention to be held in Charlotte in September 2012.  The Presenting Sponsor of the 2012 PowerLuncheons is Business Today.  The next planned PowerLuncheon is July 19th at NorthStone Country Club with Dr. Heath Morrison speaking about his "Entry Plan" for Charlotte Mecklenburg Schools.  Supporting sponsors include Boatsman Gilmore PLLC and Hendrick NorthLake Luxury Automall.

United States Representative Sue Myrick was the speaker for the May Legislative PowerLuncheon.  Rep. Myrick, representing the 9th District, has been a tremendous advocate for business.  Pictured is Rep. Myrick, 2012 Chamber Chairman of the Board Jack Salzman and Chamber President Bill Russell. 

Rep Myrick
Business Today

Business Today is the 2012 Presenting Sponsor of the Lake Norman Chamber of Commerce PowerLuncheon series.

North Mecklenburg Public Safety Luncheon

The Lake Norman Chamber of Commerce annually salutes the men and women who work tirelessly to protect and serve the families and businesses of the Lake Norman region at a Public safety Lunceon held each October. The sixth annual event held in October 2011 was keynoted by Lili Johnson, Associate Dean for Central Piedmont Community College, who cited the college's efforts to train local responders and public safety officers.

2011 Chamber Board Chairman Robert Reed, along with Chamber president Bill Russell, spoke to the critical role the police, fire, and first responders play in making the community a great place to live and work. The Chamber presented awards to the most outstanding officer from each North Mecklenburg department, selected by their respective chief.

The awards program was presented by Wells Fargo Bank and sponsored by The Herald Newspaper, Central Piedmont Community College, and Crime Stoppers.

2011 Public Safetyc

The Lake Norman Chamber Public Service Award recipients for 2011 included: Lt. David Baucom - Cornelius Police Department, Sergeant David R. Messer -Davidson Police Department, Sergeant Thomas J. Seifert - Huntersville Police Department, Firefighter Michael Fox - Cornelius Lemley Fire Rescue, Firefighter Chris Morris - Davidson Fire Department, Firefighter Tucker Sizemore - Huntersville Fire Department Station 1, Firefighter Chad Dunn - Huntersville Fire Department Station 2, and Greg Truesdell - North Mecklenburg Rescue Squad, Inc.

The Crime Stopper of the Year was presented by Crime Stopper's Chairman Tommy Davis. The 2011 recipient was Diana Rochester.

Go To Top